SUMMA Foundation
Board of Directors
Scientific Conferences
Book Publications
University Research
EMP and HPEM Fellows
Carl E. Baum Medal
Best Paper Awards
Short Course
Electromagnetics Society
The NOTES Series

 EMP Fellows

 List of EMP and HPEM Fellows

Every two years (in even years) the Summa Foundation recognizes the contributions of scientists and engineers by awarding them the title of HPEM Fellow.  These awards are based on many years of research and practical accomplishments dealing with high power transient phenomena.  The first Fellows were recognized on May 21, 1986. 

A special Fellows’ Committee appointed by the Board of Directors of the Summa Foundation performs the evaluation of qualifications.  The Committee is currently chaired by Dr. William A. Radasky, and all members of the committee have been previously recognized as HPEM Fellows.

Six awardees were selected in 2020.  Their names and citations are listed below.

HPEM Fellow Citations for 2020

Vladimir M. Chepelev
For contributions to research of mechanisms of IEMI influence on electronic devices and development of the concept of key parameters

Sameer Hemmady
For contributions to the development of High - Power Electromagnetic (HPEM) systems including the development of complex computer models that accurately predict the susceptibility level of aerial electronic systems

Nicolas Ribiere-Tharaud
For contributions to critical infrastructure HPEM analysis and protection

Ilya V. Romanchenko
For the development of high-power gyromagnetic nonlinear transmission lines and HPM sources on its basis

Carlos Romero
For contributions to the measurement and analysis of lightning and high-power EMP simulators and coupling to civil and military systems

Renzhen Xiao
For contributions to novel beam-wave interaction mechanisms and phase locking

  List of EMP and HPEM Fellows

Copyright © 2022 Electrical & Computer Engineering Department.
The University of New Mexico. All rights reserved.
[Contact Webmaster]