SUMMA Foundation
Board of Directors
Scientific Conferences
Book Publications
University Research
EMP and HPEM Fellows
Carl E. Baum Medal
Best Paper Awards
Short Course
Electromagnetics Society
The NOTES Series

 Scientific Conferences

The SUMMA Foundation first sponsored the Nuclear EMP (NEM) conference in 1973 which then became a biennial conference in 1978. In 1994 the conference was held in Europe (Bordeaux, France) and was named EUROEM. In 1996 the conference returned to North America and changed its name from NEM to AMEREM. In 2015 this conference was held in Asia (Jeju, Korea) and was named ASIAEM. In 2022, following the COVID pandemic, the conference was held in Abu Dhabi, UAE and was named GLOBALEM. All subsequent conferences will be named GLOBALEM with GLOBALEM 2024 to be held in Austin, TX, USA, July 14-19, 2024, hosted by ETS-Lindgren.

List of Symposia

  • NEM 1973, Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Chairman: John H. Darrah
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1978, Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Carl E. Baum
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1980, Anaheim, California, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Gene E. Morgan
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1982, Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Held jointly with IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) Symposium and    National Radio Science Meeting (U.S. National Committee of the International
       Radio Science Union (USNC/URSI)
       Chairman: Carl E. Baum
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1984, Baltimore, Maryland, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Louis F. Libello
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1986, Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Robert L. Gardner
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1988, Menlo Park, California, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Werner Graf
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1990, Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Michael G. Harrison
       Book of Abstracts
  • NEM 1992, Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A.
       Held jointly with IEEE AP-S Symposium and National Radio Science Meeting
       Chairman: Piergiorgio L.E. Uslenghi
       Book of Abstracts
  • EUROEM 1994, Bordeaux, France
       Chairman: Dominique J. Serafin
       Book of Abstracts
  • AMEREM 1996, Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Shyam H. Gurbaxcini
       Book of Abstracts
  • EUROEM 1998, Tel Aviv, Israel
       Chairman: Joseph Shiloh
       Book of Abstracts
  • EUROEM 2000, Edinburgh, Scotland, U.K.
       Chairman: Paul D. Smith and David M. Parkes
       Book of Abstracts
  • AMEREM 2002, Annapolis, Maryland, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Terence J. Wieting
  • EUROEM 2004: Magdeburg, Germany
       Chairman: Jürgen Nitsch
  • AMEREM 2006: Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Held jointly with IEEE AP-S Symposium and National Radio Science Meeting.
       Chairman: Donald McLemore
  • EUROEM 2008: Lausanne, Switzerland
       Chairman: Farhad Rachidi
  • AMEREM 2010: Ottawa, Canada
       Chairman: Lot Shafai
  • EUROEM 2012: Toulouse, France
       Chairman: Jean-Philippe Parmantier
  • AMEREM 2014: Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Edl Schamiloglu
  • ASIAEM2015: Jeju, Republic of Korea
       Chairman: Yanzhao Xie
       Book of Abstracts
  • EUROEM 2016: London, UK
       Chairman: Richard Hoad
       Book of Abstracts
       Technical Program
  • ASIAEM 2017: Bengaluru, India
       Chairman: D.V. Giri
       Book of Abstracts
       Program Book
  • AMEREM 2018: Santa Barbara, California, U.S.A.
       Chairman: Bill Radasky
       Book of Abstracts
  • ASIAEM 2019: Xi'an, China
       Chairman: Yanzhao Xie
       Book of Abstracts [to come]
       Program Book
  • GLOBALEM 2022: Abu Dhabi
       General Chair: Chaouki Kasmi
       Download Program & Abstract Book
  • GLOBALEM 2024

Copyright © 2024 Electrical & Computer Engineering Department.
The University of New Mexico. All rights reserved.
[Contact Webmaster]