SUMMA Foundation
Board of Directors
Scientific Conferences
Book Publications
University Research
EMP and HPEM Fellows
Carl E. Baum Medal
Best Paper Awards
Short Course
Electromagnetics Society
The NOTES Series

 Carl E. Baum Medal

  List of Carl E. Baum Medal Winners

In 2016 Dr. Sholapurwala approached Dr. Dave Giri to initiate the concept of the Carl E. Baum Medal to be awarded to persons for their long-standing accomplishments in the field of Applied Electromagnetics. Dr. Giri approached the Board of Directors of the Summa Foundation in Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA and the Summa Board agreed with the idea of this award. Further Drs. Sholapurwala and Giri, donated $1,000 each to Summa Foundation to facilitate this award. Twenty-five medals were produced and provided to the Summa Foundation.

It was decided that the Summa Board of Directors would select the medal awardees each year and could choose any number between 0 and 4. In the inaugural year (2017) 4 initial awards were made to Drs. David Giri, Kelvin Lee, William Radasky, and Fred Tesche. In 2018 two additional awards were presented to Dr. Mat Bäckström and Bill Prather. The list below will be updated as additional persons are honored.

Carl E. Baum Medal Award Winners


Date of Election


George H. Baker 2022 For contributions to EMP generation and hardening technology, for the development of standards and specifications, for the management of R&D programs and for his work with the U.S. National Security Council relating to the Executive Order on EMP
Dr. Paul R. Barnes 2022 For contributions to EMP analysis and the development of the test and protection methods for commercial power systems
William R. Graham 2022 For contributions to the development of hardening engineering, test and evaluation and for chairing the U.S. Congressional EMP Commission
Dr. Richard Hoad 2022 For contributions to the understanding of EMP and HPEM effects and for the development of detection and protection concepts
Michel Ianoz 2022 For contributions to EMP and lightning coupling techniques
Manuel W. Wik 2022 For contributions to the standardization of EMP environments and hardening procedures for non-military installations, for work with the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and for management of the Swedish EMP program
Dr. Jean P. Parmantier 2019 For pioneering application of electromagnetic topology with the CRIPTE code for the calculation of electromagnetic response of complex systems
Dr. Dominique J. Serafin 2019 For playing a leading role in developing theoretical and
experimental programs in France and for contributions to interaction analysis and system testing
Dr. Sergey Tkachenko 2019 For theoretical investigations of high-frequency electromagnetic field coupling to transmission lines in different environments
Prof. Yan-zhao Xie 2019 For contributions to EMP interaction, modeling and measurement

Mats Bäckström


For contributions to the development of HPEM test techniques and facilities

David V. Giri


For major contributions to EMP and HPM and for ensuring the legacy of Carl E. Baum

Kelvin S. H. Lee


For seminal contributions to EMP

William D. Prather


For contributions to EMP and HPM testing and hardening

William A. Radasky


For contributions to understanding EMP generation and computation

Frederick M. Tesche


For contributions to electromagnetic topology and EMC



Copyright © 2024 Electrical & Computer Engineering Department.
The University of New Mexico. All rights reserved.
[Contact Webmaster]